Awards Recipients

WACDL is pleased to announce its annual awards recipients for 2017.

The following individuals will be recognized at WACDL’s awards dinner, part of WACDL’s annual conference, on Friday, June 9 at 5:30 pm in Chelan, Washington.

William O. Douglas Award
John Strait will receive the 2017 Douglas Award. A longtime member of WACDL, time and again John has generously volunteered his expertise to help WACDL members on issues involving ethics and related legal areas, and been a steadfast champion of constitutional rights.

The Douglas Award is WACDL’s most esteemed award, and is given to recognize a pattern of extraordinary achievement, courage, and dedication in the practice of criminal law.

President’s Awards
The President’s Award recognizes achievement in a particular case or series of related cases, or long-time service to the criminal defense bar, and there are three recipients this year:

Casey Stamm — for her work representing clients, which began as a law student when she wrote a petition that contributed to the release of a “Wenatchee sex ring” defendant, as well as assistance to the defense bar through her workfor WACDL and personal support of other lawyers.

Jon Zulauf — in recognition of a long legal career with many hard fought cases, his work for WACDL, and his recent  work in setting up the Clemency Project.

Francis Adewale — for his instrumental role in starting and continuing Spokane’s Municipal Community Court.

The Champion of Justice Award

The Draeger Litigation Group will be recognized for taking on an enormous amount of volunteer work in challenging the admissibility of results from the Draeger, the state’s new DUI-testing machine.

To attend the awards dinner or the annual conference, go to WACDL’s annual conference page and scroll down to “Registration Options.”

Log in

Forgot your password?
Forgot your User Name?